Seeing what’s not there

Fragrance of herbs, dinner

simmering on the stove

I’m thinking of time, the table,

complete arrangements of lovely things.

 

Thinking after pleasantries

of your arrival

a quiet flare

“can die in a moment.”

 

What shall we talk about?

Shall I ask you, a seasoned traveller

if I need a prime lens,

50 mm f/1.8G in my bag?

 

What if you don’t come?

I may never know the difference

between unfulfilled curiosity

and unpleasant pain of loss.

 

My eyes aimlessly wander outside

a bird perches at the window

a sweet song,

too obvious to be meaningless.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Seeing what’s not there

Leave a Reply

