letter is obsolete?

“Christmas letter is obsolete.”

Facebook has been telling the story.

The letter is for emphasis:

What is remembered and forgotten,

the understanding of what  it meant.

 

The story began with a bear,

scary bear, went down the mountain

to meet me: imprinted in my mind.

 

The farthest we travelled, to the south,

Key West Islands, to visit friends.

Image

One and a half hour drive  to the north

to visit vineyards and taste wines.

 

A teacher guided me

how to survive the forest

taught me what to eat, 

how to find water, shelter.

 

A cold spell 

descended in the village

the mountain, white again,

the bear in hibernation.

 

I did not know.

A tiger truly scared me.

A nurse examining my eyes every hour. 

monitoring my consciousness.

The wait and the healing.

I could drive at night again,

go to high altitude.

 

“I am the master of my fate:

I am the captain of my soul.”

I like to believe it was true

in the first half of my life.

I’m way on the second half.

I surrendered my baton

to a higher power, the ancient One.

 

I will spread my arms

welcome the dawn,

place my palms together

and bow. Merry Christmas.

ImageImage

 

note:In the midst of Jesus’ anguished prayer asking his Father to take his cup of sorrow away…

“Then an angel appeared to him, coming from heaven to give him strength.“ (Luke 22:43)

from: Can You Drink the Cup? by Henri J.M. Nouwen

photo: Key Wesuary, 2013

photo: Jerusalem, September 2010

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

