unfinished dialogue

Books connect to other books

concepts clarifies other concepts

web of connections

lifelines to sustain a tree, an ocean,  a mind

tributaries, tributaries

“What are you talking about?”

from a voice I heard from behind me

I turned around and saw you.

I was astonished to see an angelic face

your cool blue eyes looking at  me

“I’m sorry,” I said, “I’m thinking loud”. 

Then silence followed my surprise.

I stammered, “I lost track

of progress of what I was thinking.

But now if I think of beauty

I will think of you 

and will sustain me for a long time.”

I thought I was bold.

Your words froze me.

“Why would you say that?

You don’t know me.”

Before I could reply

you turned around and left.

I looked at you walking away

my vision of beauty fading away.

I was sitting still, still frozen.

I regretted it then and now

I didn’t follow you

to continue our dialogue.

I was left in the library, alone, 

with my books and shelves 

and shelves of silence.

 

note: I’m reading the Raven by Edgar Allan Poe and The Artist of the Beautiful by Nathaniel Hawthorne, 2 of several works for my eCourse on Fantasy and Science Fiction.

 

2 thoughts on “unfinished dialogue

  1. Fabulous Edgar…your writing is moving into wonderful spaces.

    As for books…I just finished reading “Miracle of Mindfulness” by Thich Nhat Hanh which I enjoyed very much. Next up.. “Seeds of Love- Growing Mindful Relationships” by Jerry Braza. The book explains how to be mindful of the garden of your life. As soon as I read that, I was sold!

    best wishes edgar..

    • Thank you Jeanne.
      Since I have followed the teachings of Thomas merton I feel very comfortable with the zen teachings like of Thich Nhat Hanh. I will look up Jerry Braza’s book. I understand also that he leads retreats here in Northern California.
      Most of the spiritual retreats I attended in the past were through San Damiano Retreat House which is about 1 1/2 hours from Napa and that’s a Franciscan retreat house.
      Have a wonderful weekend Jeanne.

Leave a Reply

