April showers

Cherry blossoms brought me to you

we shared umbrella in the rain

walking the same path.

We ran to the waterfalls.

You were listening to Beethoven’s piano sonatas

you called, wanting to share the enchantment

I was oblivious

charmed deep with projects, deadlines, work-frenzy.

Our dinner became hurried, rendevouz shortened

I deferred answers, evaded questions

I was neglecful, filled with busyness

your voice moved farther away and faded.

I didn’t regard “time as love”

I thought saints could listen to pleadings

but some things were irretrievable.

April returns in orbit

cherry blossoms are in bloom

I’m looking at an empty space.

Leave a Reply

