What am I missing in art?

“For me, a consequence of my drawing was a new appreciation of the visual arts. When possible, I would study a painting’s content-⎯that is, its cultural, social, and historical context⎯which enhanced my artistic appreciation and understanding. But I came to realize that my relative neglect of form⎯the internal dialogue brushed into the canvas or carved in the sculpture⎯had deprived me of a fuller aesthetic experience of art.”

-J.R. Leibowitz, Hidden Harmony, The Connected Worlds of Physics and Art

2 thoughts on “What am I missing in art?

  1. I love this because, it is learning to see things differently which is what art does for all of us. But realizing how we ourselves are brain trained to look at something and then realizing there is more … ah a sweet recognition.

Leave a Reply

