a bridge

“I thought about that man for the rest of my trip. I thought about him for the rest of my life. He’d been generous, yes, but lots of people are generous; what made him different was the fact that he’d taken responsibility for me. He’d spotted me from town and walked half a mile out a highway to make sure I was okay. Robert Frost famously wrote that home is the place where, when you have to go there, they have to take you in. The word “tribe” is far harder to define, but a start might be the people you feel compelled to share the last of your food with. For reasons I’ll never know, the man in Gillette decided to treat me like a member of his tribe.”
-Sebastian Junger, Tribe, On Homecoming and Belonging

note: The community is divided. Our country is divided. We need a bridge, a bridge of empathy,understanding, and solidarity to connect the divisions.

I finished reading Tribe by Sebastian Junger.

Leave a Reply

